Samantha Barks at St James’ Studio.

Last Saturday, April 2nd, my friends and I attended Samantha Barks’ concert at the St James’ Studio in London. We all became friends through being fans of Samantha’s and it was super cool to be able to all sit together in the front row and watch this beautiful woman sing.

In case her name sounds familiar to you, Samantha is a critically acclaimed actress & singer, mostly known for her role as Eponine in the West End production, the 25th anniversary concert & the film of Les Miserables. She has also starred in shows such as Cabaret, Oliver! and City of Angels and she has a few films in the pipeline that are soon to be released. She has also just competed in season 2 of Bear Grylls’ Mission Survive and she is about to release her debut album through United Music. The concert was a sneak peak at her album and it was really interesting to see what kind of music we can expect from her album.

I really loved that she sang a mix of both covers and original songs. One of the original songs ‘Hard To Find’ was a particular stand out. She also covered songs such as ‘Blackbird’ by the Beatles and ‘If I Die Young’ by The Band Perry which were brilliant. And she also put new twists on songs she had performed in shows she had been in such as ‘As Long As He Needs Me’ from Oliver! and ‘On My Own’ from Les Miserables, which were particular stand outs for me. She also performed ‘Stay’ from a musical called Amelie that she starred in in the States last year, which I really enjoyed as I couldn’t get to go to San Francisco to see the production!

Samantha is such a joyous and lovely person with a stunning voice and I will 100% continue to follow every step of her career. I am ridiculously excited for her album to be released in June and I can’t wait to see her on tour either. I highly recommend pre-ordering her album and buying tickets to her tour!

  • Samantha’s self titled album is released June 10th and can be pre-ordered here!
  • You can buy tickets to her tour in June here!
  • And also my friend Olivia posted about Sam’s concert on her blog too which you can read here!

Until next time!

Hayley.

 

 


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment