Young Adult Literature Weekender overview + book haul!

ahhh hello!

This weekend I attended the Young Adult Literature Weekender at the South Bank centre as part of the London Literature Festival!

I did a mini vlog about it. I’ve just got to edit it!

There was a reading den which was so cute! They had a little vlogging corner and a book swap and the wall was a massive chalkboard that you can write on!

The authors whose panels and signings I attended were SO lovely! It’s so lovely to hear their experiences of being in the publishing industry and how they created their work.

Here are the books I acquired!

Photo 05-10-2014 18 24 35

The ones from the book swap were: – The Mortal Instruments related books at the top, Fragile Things – Neil Gaiman, Severed Heads, Broken Hearts – Robyn Schneider + The Twitter Diaries – Georgie Thompson and Imogen Lloyd Webber!
I hadn’t heard of these books and seeing as they were free I figured I’d try them out! Especially The Twitter Diaries as the whole book is told in tweet form which I’ve never seen before!

I picked up The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender – Leslyne Walton too! To be honest, I’m not entirely sure if this was free! There were 4 copies of it on a table that nobody was sitting behind so I figured it was free?! It’s a book I’ve heard has a beautiful writing style and I hope I didn’t accidentally steal it?!

The last three books I bought courtesy of The Book People! They are SUCH a good online bookstore! You like cheap books?! They’ve got them! I managed to get a copy of The Bone Season for £8!!!
The books are: This Book is Gay – James Dawson (who told me he’d read the shit out of my book!), The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon and Soulmates – Holly Bourne! and I got all their books signed!

Photo 05-10-2014 18 26 22  Photo 05-10-2014 18 26 32Photo 05-10-2014 18 26 44Photo 05-10-2014 19 11 02

I also met Scott Westerfeld too and got my copy of Afterworlds signed!

I have aloooooot of reading in my future, now! Good thing since I spent all my money on The Book People hahaha

Thanks for reading!!

🙂


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

Leave a comment